Soul music Group

no-jazz-studio

Nojazz: an exciting name, two syllables thrown together to create a rather provocative slogan!

It all started in 2000’ with the meeting of 5 musicians from various musical backgrounds, but willing to explore new musical areas and create a new sound.

Five strong and complementary personalities. Five musicians with a spooky and fun cyberfunk look, haunted by only one idea: make the audience dance and transport them into the heart of the new electro sound-revolution.

If there’s one concept with noJazz, it’s simply: to mix the spirit of soul music and jazz from its origins (ballroom dancing and improvisation) with modern day hypnotic sounds. Soul & jungle, trip-hop, melodies and samples, hard bop funk with some drum’n’bass dressing, it’s a marriage between swing and electro.

Band members

Photo credit: Franck FOLLET

ffp1114-mini-682×1024

Philippe Balatier (aka dj Balatman), perfomed with Isaac Hayes, Didier Lockwood, Yannick Noah, etc … Keyboard and samples magician, fan of James Brown & the Propellerheads – “keyboard riffs worthy of Joe Zawinul and Richard Tee’s soft & crunchy grooves (Keyboard Mgazine)”

ffp1018-mini-1-682×1024

Pascal Reva (aka Bilbo), drummer, multi–instrumentalist, with a background in pop-rock music. Played with Patricia Kaas, Mano Solo, Calogéro, Imuvrini… “powerful and provocative loops with cunning minimalism, sexy sequences that are refined & bewitching to the listener yet made of great complexity by this solid & creative drummer.”

ffp1093-mini-682×1024

François Mpondo (aka Jeffrey) his golden voice has lead him to many different projects, especially in cinema (Walt Disney films, Single Larusso, opening ceremonies for the Vladivostok Film Festival (Russia) & the Guanajuato (Mexico)… Gifted with enormous presence on stage, he brilliantly interprets noJazz-s soul/funk titles.

ffp1033-mini-682×1024

Philippe Sellam (aka Captain Slam) Saxophonist, he has played with Gil Evans, John Scofield, Roy Hargrove – “saxophone choruses by Wayne Shorter with a hint of Jan Garbarek playing with Canonball Aderley with a glass of Wilton Felder. ECM-like ethnic colors, but that could make the Swedish ice melt” (Jazz Mag)

ffp1192-mini-682×1024

Sylvain Gontard (aka Iron Sly) One of the French trumpet virtuosos, He’s played with Mélodie Gardot, Nikki Yanofsky, Wynton Marsalis, Lenny Kravitz… “trumpet choruses with wah wah & echo with a Tom Browne or Randy Brecker type sensual mood.” (Brecker Brothers.)

Contactez nous

Pour de plus amples informations, n'hésitez pas à nous joindre.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

Groupe soul music

no-jazz-studio

Nojazz : patronyme excitant, en forme de slogan un rien provocateur, deux syllabes qui claquent, déjà un nom de code.

Tout a commencé en 2000 par la rencontre de cinq musiciens prêts à tout, fiers de leurs multiples expériences respectives mais décidés à explorer de nouveaux territoires musicaux.

Cinq personnalités fortes, complémentaires, cinq musiciens au joyeux look cyberfunk, tous hantés par la même idée : faire tanguer le public et l’emmener rêver au cœur de la nouvelle révolution électronique.

S’il y a un concept Nojazz, il est très simple : mixer l’esprit de la soul et du jazz des origines (la fête) avec les rythmes hypnotiques des sons actuels. Soul et jungle, trip hop et fanfares, mélodies et samples, funk hard bop à la sauce drum’n’bass, c’est le mariage du swing et de l’électronique.

Les membres du groupe

ffp1114-mini-682×1024

Philippe Balatier (Balatman), a joué avec Isaac Hayes , Didier Lockwood, Yannick noah…, clavier et magicien des samples, fan de James Brown et de Propellerheads – “des parties de claviers dignes de Joe Zawinul et des accords gouleyants et bulbeux à la Richard Tee (Just the two of us)”

ffp1018-mini-1-682×1024

Pascal Reva (Bilbo), batteur multi-instrumentiste issu de la Pop a joué avec Patricia Kaas , Mano Solo, Calogéro… -“des loops pulsants et provocateurs, au minimalisme piège, des séquences sexys, recherchées et envoûtantes pour l’auditeur, mais d’une complexité sans égale pour ce batteur pertinent.”

ffp1093-mini-682×1024

François Mpondo (Jeffrey)Sa voix en Or l’a mené dans bien des projets (BO Walt Disney, Single Larusso, Cérémonies d’ouverture pour le festival du Film de Vladivostok (Russie) et le Guanajuato (Mexique)… Doté par ailleurs d’une énorme présence scénique, il porte haut les nouveaux titres soul/funky de nojazz.

ffp1033-mini-682×1024

Philippe Sellam (Slam), saxophoniste, a joué avec Gil Evans, John Scofield, Roy Hargrove – “des chorus de saxophone Wayne Shorter teintés de Jan Garbarek jouant à qui « mieux mieux » avec Canonball Aderley devant un grand verre de Wilton Felder (des colos ethniques façon ECM, mais à faire fondre la glace suédoise)”

ffp1192-mini-682×1024

Sylvain Gontard (Iron Sly) trompettiste virtuose, a joué avec , Mélodie Gardot, Nikki Yanofsky, Wynton Marsalis, Lenny Kravitz… “des chorus de trompette avec wah wah et écho sur un mood sensuel façon Tom Browne ou Randy Brecker (Brecker Brothers.)”

Contactez nous

Pour de plus amples informations, n'hésitez pas à nous joindre.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search